Nursery Curriculum

At Rossall Nursery the curriculum is carefully planned in line with the Early Years Foundation Stage Framework and the International Baccalaureate Primary Years Programme. As part of these programmes, your child will be encouraged to take part in a wide range of exciting activities to extend and build upon their existing abilities, interests and knowledge. Whilst gaining a thirst for learning we will ensure that your child has fun and enjoys coming to nursery.

Activities for the two to four-year-olds are planned within the areas of learning as specified in the Early Years Foundation Stage Curriculum.

There are seven areas of learning and development and all areas are important and interconnected. Three areas are particularly crucial for igniting children’s curiosity, enthusiasm for learning and for building their capacity to learn, form relationships and thrive.

These three areas, the prime areas, are:

Communication and Language
Personal, Social and Emotional Development
Physical Development

There are four specific areas:

Understanding the World
Expressive Arts and Design

Meeting individual needs of all children lies at the heart of the Early Years Foundation Stage Curriculum. We deliver personalised learning, development and care, to help all children to get the best possible start in life.

In addition, the Early Years Foundation Curriculum is planned in conjunction with the Primary Years Programme for the three and four-year-olds. It focuses on the total growth of the developing child, encompassing social, physical, emotional and cultural needs in addition to academic development. This is taught through six transdisciplinary themes which provide a relevant, engaging, challenging and significant educational framework for all children.

The themes are:

Who we are
Where we are in place and time
How we express ourselves
How the world works
How we organise ourselves
Sharing the planet